This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

Hot Cross Buns for the sensitive stomach

Leave a comment

Happy Easter one and all! a few weeks ago I made hot cross buns from a new recipe. This recipe was low in carbohydrates, gluten free, dairy free, nut free, grain free, paleo, had no added sugar and was high in fiber. It seemed too good to be true but I tried it nonetheless.

I was very glad I did. This recipe is simple, quick and the buns last for over a week in the fridge. I had no trouble digesting them, and while they are not as sweet as the original HCB recipes from the bakers, they are just as enjoyable with a small trickle of chocolate on top. I had very little trouble sourcing  ingredients but I have made some notes down the bottom of the page that are especially helpful for Australian’s

 The recipe was on the website www.ditchthecarbs.com and was written by one if the authors, Libby. I take absolutely no credit for this recipe.


 

LCHF Hot Cross Buns

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius or 350 Fahrenheit. This recipe makes six buns.

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/3 cup psyllium husks

1tsp baking powder

2 Tbsp Stevia, Erythritol or sweetener of choice

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp mixed spice

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 ground cloves

4 eggs at room temperature

1 cup boiling water

(Optional: chocolate chips, cacao nibs, raisins)

Icing 

chocolate or stevia/erythritol icing sugar mix

Steps

  • Mix dry ingredients
  • Add in eggs and mix thoroughly
  • Add in boiling water and mix through evenly
  • Roll mixture into 8 even balls and place on tray lined with baking paper
  • Bake at 180C or 350 F for 20-30 minutes. They should look a little golden and when lanced with a thin needle the needle should come out without residue.
  • Leave buns to cool.
  • Melt chocolate or mix icing and use an applicator to drizzle your crosses on each bun. Leave aside to set. Serve with whichever condiment you so choose!

 

Baking with sweeteners in Australia. I have a guru. We have been working together for a while now trying to work out exactly what is going on with non-sugar sweeteners as far as cooking is concerned. I know, I know. Coles, IGA, Woolworths and every other supermarket and health food store sells a bundle of products that are ‘appropriate’ or actually viable when added to a cup of tea or coffee. But you may have noticed that wretched bitterness when you have tried to bake a cake with it, or anything more substantial? In our house it came to a point where my house mate was convinced I was trying to kill him and refused to taste anything I baked.

Embarrassing!

In America there are plenty of sweetener products that are easy to access and use. But they cannot be imported into Australia, and so we are severely lacking in options and variety. Many sweeteners also have strong laxative effects in the body and so are unappealing to use in large amounts.

Thankfully an answer is here. A relatively new product is available and having used it a few times I can confirm I have had much success! Meringues, ice cream and cupcakes, as well as these buns. The product is an Erythritol from Ausweet. It is good for diabetics, has a low GI rating and tastes just like sugar. My only suggestion is to be prepared. It isn’t as cheap as sugar, as it isn’t as easily available. Don’t let this deter you, it is actually a strong flavour so you shouldn’t need half as much sugar.

Having said all this, I wish you a happy Easter and may your break be filled with warm memory making opportunities.

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

