This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

9Gag 2015 Reading Challenge: The Finale Count

Leave a comment

Throughout this year you may have been following my progress as I attempted to complete one nasty list of books in the 9Gag 2015 Reading Challenge. I provided monthly updates to keep tabs and ensure I was sticking to targets. The truth is the list had close to 50 books in it, and they weren’t always so easy to categories or locate. Especially if you are in want of cash to access them. I was a bit stubborn in my principles and determined from the start that I did not want to use any one book to knock off two points on the list or to re-read a text just to help ease into it and cross of the target. 

2015 challenge

I wanted to read new texts and expand my reading repertoire. I wanted to challenge myself in this challenge. The result? All but a few targets were met and those that weren’t is purely because I chose my health and rest over time spent reading past midnight. Two months of 2015 I didn’t read books at all, which really says something about my reading abilities.

So without further ado I will reveal and reminisce with you my completed(ish) list.


 

A book with more than 500 pages: Educational psychology by Sue Duchesne et al

A classic romance: The professor by Charlotte Bronte

A book that became a movie: The book thief by Markus Zusak

A book published this year: Moody Bitches by DR Julie Holland

A book with a number in the title: 1984 by George Orwell

A book written by someone under 30: Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

A book with nonhuman characters: Forest by Sonya Hartnett

A funny book:  Fifty shades of Mr Darcy by William Codpiece Twackery

A book by a female author: Aboriginial and Torres Strait Islander Education by Kaye Price

A mystery or thriller: The shining by Stephen King

A book with a one-word title: Kiterunner by Khaleed Hosseini

A book of short stories: Let’s explore diabetes with owls by David Sedaris

A book set in a different country: Pinball by Haruki Murukami

A non-fiction book: Teaching and learning in Aboriginal education by Neil Harrison

A popular author’s first book: Carrie by Stephen King

A book from an author you love but haven’t read yet: The red queen by Isobelle Carmody

A book a friend recommended:  Little women by Louisa May Alcott

A Pulitzer-Prize winner:  Not completed

A book based on a true story: The art of belonging by Hugh Mackay

A book at the bottom of your to read list:  NOt completed but was intended as Renegades Magic by Robin Hobb

A book your mum loves: A thousand splendid suns by Khaleed Hosseini

A book that scares you: Reboot with Joe by Joe Cross

A book more than 100 years old: The strange case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

A book based on the cover: Introducing Jung: A graphic guide by Maggie Hyde

A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t: Animal farm by George Orwell

A memoir: Mama Jude by Judy Steel

A book you can finish in a day: The list by Anena Stout

A book with antonyms in the title: Hotel on the corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford

A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit: The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

A book that came out the year you were born: The alchemist by Paul Coelho

A book with bad reviews: Titus Andronicus by William Shakespeare

A trilogy: 1Q84 by Haruki Murukami

A book from your childhood: Harry Potter and the philosopher’s stone by J. K. Rowling

A book with a love triangle: Water for elephants by Sara Gruen

A book set in the future: Wool by Hugh Howie

A book set in a high school: Assessment and Reporting by Brady and Kennedy

A book with a colour in the title: Red dragon by Thomas Harding

A book that made you cry: The fault in our stars by John Green

A book with magic: Silverthorn by Raymond E Feist

A graphic novel: The complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi 

A book by an author you’ve never read before: Lupus Q & A Revised and Updated by Robert Lahita

A book you own but have never read: In the kingdom of the sick: A history of chronic illness in America by Laurie Edwards

A book that takes place in your hometown: The family farm by Fiona Palmer

A book originally written in a different language: Wind by Haruki Murukami

A book set during Christmas: A Christmas carol by Charles Dickens

A book by an author with the same initials as you: The Undivided by Jennifer Fallon

A play: Not Completed but intended as No Sugar

A banned book: A catcher in the rye by J. D. Salinger

A book based on or turned into a TV show: The Slap by Christos Tsialkos

A book you started but never finished: Forest Mage by Robin Hobb

IMAG2295 (2)

 

I won’t be doing a reading challenge in 2016. As much as I love reading, I don’t want to look at a book for a little while.

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

