This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

Reading challenge: June update

Leave a comment

I’m growing so fond of these monthly updates. Its a rather interesting phenomenon for me in quite a few ways.

IMAG1595
In past years I have attempted to stick to a year-long challenge. I have tried the 365 photography challenge and I have also tried to do colors and poetry challenges. Last year was (believe it or not) the first year I managed to stick it out for a whole year. Last year was more basic because I honestly didn’t trust myself to last. I only had a target number of books to read, and yes even though the number was the difficult part, it was still easier to work towards.

So this year my challenge, the extension of last years, is still a simpler target than some. I choose to keep you in the loop with monthly updates due to the sheer volume of literature I’m taking in. I choose to do it in cutesy interactive ways to retain the interest and to share part of myself, life and choices with you. Hence I choose to make it difficult for myself each month as I try to think of which cutesy interactive I will engage you with.
My final point is a simple brag, just because of how proud I am of my effort this year as at the halfway mark I have actually already read as many books as I targeted last year in my previous challenge (!) Last years challenge was to read 30 books and managed 35, this year I am sitting on 32 as I enter July so anything more is just gravy and indicates I am potentially able to achieve my 52 book goal.

To share my list of June books I will include my favourite excerpt from each.

A book of short stories Let’s explore diabetes with owls by David Sedaris

“States vote to take away my marriage rights, and even though I don’t want to get married, it tends to hurt my feelings. I guess what bugs me is that it was put to a vote in the first place. If you don’t want to marry a homosexual, then don’t. But what gives you the right to weigh in on your neighbor’s options? It’s like voting whether or not redheads should be allowed to celebrate Christmas.”

A popular author’s first book Carrie by Stephen King

“Nobody was really surprised when it happened, not really, not at the subconscious level where savage things grow.”

A book with antonyms in the title Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford

“The hardest choices in life aren’t between what’s right and what’s wrong but between what’s right and what’s best.”

A funny book Fifty shades of Mr DThwackeryarody  by William Codpiece Thwackery

Mr Bennet, his head buried in A Gentleman’s Repository, merely grunted in reply. Unlike Mrs Bennet’s first, second, third and fourth husbands – whom Mrs Bennet had bonked into an early grave – Billy-Bob Bennet was not a man fond of repartee. In short, his sole purpose within the pages of this book is to act as a cipher, to represent an ideal of manliness based on hunting, fishing and DIY, in order to form a striking contrast to the kinky, brooding, slightly prissy anti-hero. Therefore the author couldn’t be bothered to give him many words.

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

