This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

O Vertigo!

Leave a comment

Kate Miller-Heidke. Image from website www. katemillerheidke.com

Kate-Miller Heidke is a gorgeous woman, a breathtaking singer and a delicate and genuine human being. She writes songs different to so many other Pop songs about and yet her musical achievements have led her through 2 EP’s, 5 albums and one live album. I adore her for her quirky talent, her even quirkier appearance and her stature which is so delicate I like to think she is a suggestion for how successful women needn’t be imposing or give up their personality and petiteness to stand out tall in the crowd.

I speak of it little, as my desire to be known for this is quite fluid, but as a teenager I privately undertook classical singing lessons. I can identify which songs I hear that I will be able to sing, even if I didn’t fully complete my education to a satisfactory level to be able to do anything with. That is not why I learned. I learned so that when I heard songs that resounded within my soul and took my heart flying in to the breeze, both lyrically and composition-wise.

This song has indeed taken me in this way, as many of Kate’s songs do. I have been working each mid-afternoon in my ‘Music Art Time’ on perfecting the lyrics and notes of this song. I hope you will look her up. I hope the lyrics below may give you the light-hearted look at me, that I have felt as I look at myself with this song in mind. (At the bottom of this page is a cheeky picture of me when I was lucky to meet her at an acoustic show in Margaret River last year!)

Oh, vertigo!
I don’t want you to leave me
I don’t want you to go

Oh, bless my soul!
I would fall for the mountains
I would fall for the snow

Yes, I am ill
Yes, I cannot get my balance
Yes, I get carried away
In a breeze
Like a feather
It doesn’t matter
Let it go

Give me love
Give me vertigo
Vertigo

I just wanted to let you know

Oh, in the the echo
Your hands were like magic
Your hands were like gold

Oh, vertigo
I believe
I believe
I believe
You know

Yes, I am ill
Yes, I cannot get my balance
Yes, I get carried away
In a breeze
Like a feather
It doesn’t matter
Let it go

Give me love
Give me vertigo

Yes, I’m a mess
Yes, I am covered in bruises
Yes, I get carried away
I’m sorry if
It confuses
It doesn’t matter
Let it go

Give me love
Give me vertigo
Vertigo

2013-11-01 19.52.38-1

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

