This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

Broome Day 6: Home

Leave a comment

Sunday 5th October 2014
image

We had to book out by 10 this morning, but our flight wasn’t until 6:40pm so Ma and I were to be in limbo for the day. The hotel, thankfully, was used to this and were very accomodating. Basically all we did was take our belongings out of the room, leaving them in the store room and lockers provided, while we chilled by the pool and took last photos by the ocean.
image

For lunch we walked down the road to what was advertised as the best burger bar in Broome (yay alliterations!) at Lord Mac’s. Like most things in Western Australia and Perth, we had been exposed to a lot of gourmet burgers in recent times. This state of mine enjoys experimenting and competing with itself to create intense and memorable food experiences. It was only fair for the extreme north of the state to be getting in on the gourmet action and Lord Mac’s promised to deliver. I had a Zanzi-Baa and Ma had the Bay Burger. Ma loved her burger but I was spoiled after the range of burgers I was used to in Perth and found that whilst the flavours were good, the meal as a whole was average. The chips served were amazing I have to admit, as was the Aioli accompaniment.

Mid-afternoon Ry and her husband came to pick us up. We were planning to take a drive to Gantheaume Point to look at the lighthouse, Anastasia’s Pool and take a turn out on the SUP (stand-up paddleboard). The wind had been up all week and the day had been pretty humid and hot, so it was decided that this was missed and instead we could relax with the dogs on Cable Beach. The 4wd took us down the beach a fair way. Ry has two Staffordshires and is quite interested in personal training and Cross-Fit so she took us out back to a track to show us where she trains sometimes with the dogs.
image

Shortly after we arrived their friend Tim pulled up and three more Staffordshires jumped out of his 4wd. There were so many dogs only slightly smaller than me running around playing!
I was almost bowled over so many times.
I was licked repeatedly all over my chest.
I was licked all over my face.
I tried my first yoga headstand in over a year.
I got a little bit sunburnt.
image
When the time was right we loaded back up to collect our luggage and have a quick look through Ry’s place and changing before heading to the airport. Super greatful we were able to get all the sand off before we got to the airport.

It was sad to say goodbye, and board the plane. it was sadder still to arrive in a very chilly, wet Perth early and wait in cheesecloth pants and thongs until B-Dizzle picked us up at the airport.
That night I had the biggest, deepest sleep I’d had in 2 weeks. It was full of joy and happy memories.

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

