This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

Broome: Day 2: Familiarising

Leave a comment

Broome

Established in: 1883 but there was a pearling industry in this location decades before

Population: Permanent population is 14, 500 with a growth of 3 times this during tourist seasons to 45, 000

Size: Shire of Broome is 55, 496 square kilometres. Town of Broome looks to be about 10 kilometres across and 15 kilometres long

Languages spoken: Predominantly English

Location: 2, 240 kilometres North East of Perth in Western Australia on the Dampier Peninsula. It is in the Kimberley region of Western Australia and elevated 19 metres or 62 feet above sea level.

Welcome to Cable Beach

Wednesday October 1st 2014

Like promised I woke up just before 7am this morning. I had also woken intermittently at regular points in the night. I wasn’t feeling well rested. I took two cameras and a bottle of water with me as I snuck out to find Cable Beach during the day. Time flies when you’re photographing the wildlife!

Stranded jellyfish

Over breakfast mum and I perused the town map to make plans. We could get a taxi or bus into town but I was sure, from the walk we had done last night and from the look of the map, that we could walk in. It didn’t look far. Walking is easy.

My famous last words. 

I forgot that it was 8.30am and already 28 degrees. I forgot the forecast was 32. I didn’t think about the humidity expected to rise over 70%.

Six kilometres down a shadeless footpath later, we were almost halfway. It had taken 35 minutes to get to this point and mum wasn’t pleased with her clothes being drenched in sweat. I didn’t mind it, but not much bothers me. Fifty metres from the first bus stop we had seen since we left the hotel mum suggested we just wait there for the next rotation. Then the bus went past.

We sat and called a taxi. It didn’t come. We waited thirty minutes for the next bus. T-Dizzle, my elder brother, called us. He had broken his wrist skateboarding. He needed an operation immediately. We were perfectly experienced for advice on hospitals and health assistance. It was sorted by the time the bus dropped us off in Chinatown.

We trod all of the pavement in the shopping area known as Chinatown. We scanned the shelves, browsed the racks, assessed the local crafts, and celebrated the talents and skills of everything. We didn’t buy a thing. Down Johnny Chi Lane we found a gorgeous cafe called Shady Lane Cafe. We had coffee and fresh juice. We bought hats and sun cream.

I have two ‘must do’ things for this holiday, both of which are quite simple. The first is to see Streeters Jetty, the second was to have a Chili Beer at Matso’s Brewery. Surprisingly for us, Streeters Jetty was actually in the middle of town and so we walked past it very early in the trip. Mum hadn’t heard of it, but was amazed and surprised at the beautiful scene we ‘stumbled across’. I know it is a very basic thing but the pictures all look so pretty and I have always preferred the less ostentatious things in life.

Streeters Jetty

After salads at Shady Lane Cafe we caught the bus back to Beaches Hotel for a swim and lazy afternoon in the shade. I edited one of my assignments and read some of my novel. Eventually we dressed for dinner to meet a friend from my childhood, and childhood town. I hadn’t seen Ry in 10 years and in that time she had lived in a few places in Western Australia and found and married the perfect fellow for her. I was very excited to meet Mister-Right-For-Ry and reacquaint myself with her.

We met and ate at Zanders, the location of Ry’s wedding reception in fact. The food was beautifully proportioned. I had Pork Belly and rarely have anything bad to say about this dish, this serving being no different. To see an old friend of mine in such a state of calm contentment and happiness, sharing her life with someone who seemed so well suited to her, caring for her and making her so happy and just darned balancing her nature so well. I was just so pleased for her and pleased to be able to spend time with them both. We were berated for not staying with them and not telling them we were coming up sooner. We were invited to go to the beach with them on the weekend, SUP and doggies were both high possibilities. Ry also offered to take us to the Hen’s Party the next night and walk with us to the wedding on Saturday. Eventually the restaurant was closing so we had to leave for our separate beds.

So blessed. So humbled. So glad I know and have friends like that in my life.

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

