This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

Excerpt from Stoker

Leave a comment

Still of Mia Wasikowska in Stoker (2013) Image from DigitalSpy.com.au

Introduction narration

My ears hear what others cannot hear.

Small, far away things people

Cannot normally see are visible to me.

These senses are the fruits

Of a lifetime of longing.

Longing to be rescued.

To be completed.

Just as the skirt needs the wind to billow

I’m not formed by things

That are of myself alone.

I wear my fathers belt

Tied around my mothers blouse

And shoes which are from my uncle.

This is me.

Just as the flower does not choose its colour

We are not responsible

For what we have come to be.

Only once you realise this

Do you become free

And to become adult

Is to become free.

Stoker was written by Wentworth Miller.

Released as a film in 2013, it was nominated for 12 awards. The actual details of this psychological thriller are not important to me here. The introduction narration moved me so much I watched it 3 times through before I relaxed enough to watch the rest of the film.

I would highly recommend this film, by the way. Chase it up with these details.

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

