This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

Friend

1 Comment

I’ve not known you for long, all things considered. Yet, it feels like we’ve been friends for some time. From the first day we met, something about you has felt familiar and comfortable. I have been able to read you so easily, and I am sure that when I have told youthat you have no secrets from me you have just thought it was something I said out of innocence and naivety.

I know the world isn’t always a nice place. I have seen most of the unpleantness that can exist in life, experienced a fair bit first hand. I have never let this lessen my positive impression of the world and people as a whole. Some how knowing you and seeing good in the person you are, regardless of what you may think of yourself, has strengthened my beliefs and given me more strength to cope with the darker side of life.

Spending time with you has taught me the qualities in myself which I should love. I have learned patience, humility, how to listen and how to share myself with others. I never expected to change so much in such a short time. I never imagined the things I have experienced were possible, or available, for me.

Words don’t describe how much you, my friend have helped me grow. How happy your company has made me. How glad I am that you never tried too hard to push this crazy little lady away. For that I thank you.

But don’t think this is the end, I don’t let people like you in lightly. And I certainly am not ready to lose a friend like you either. Distances are nothing to a small town girl from country W.A, and I would love to watch as you grow in your pursuit of happiness. I know it’s there, if you let it in. You will find it.

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

One thought on “Friend

  1. Very nice, Jessica! . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

