This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

Yoga Aid 2012

Leave a comment

It feelts like such a great coincidence that I had two”fitness for charity” events so close together! Only a week after the City to Surf I had signed up for a Yoga fundraiser. I wouldn’t say this was a highly publicised event, but it is advertised as the world’s largest syncronised Yoga event all the same.

The premise of Yoga Aid is:
On a specific day all over the world, people collaborate in main city centres of cities and suburbs to perform 108 Sun Salutes over the course of roughly 2 hours with the target of raising money for 3 nominated charities.

If you are unfamiliar with yoga a Sun Salute is a movement sequence which ends with hands in prayer, or ‘Namaste’. Yoga movements vary depending on the individual’s practices, the style of yoga being performed and the ability of the individual to perform.

Some of our Salutes were fast paced and required a higher level of muscle control. These ones were led by instructors from various Bikram Yoga institutes in Perth, as well as my friend and instructor Rhy. Some were very mellow and led by instructors from the various Vinyasa and Hatha centres in Perth. We had about a dozen instructors in total and the mix of personalities and movements was so pleasant and refreshing!

Our location was under a impressively endowed tree, which I think was a type of Fig, in Kings Square Fremantle. The sun shone with joy. The breeze was soothing. The shadow from the (Fig) tree cast a protective layer over us to keep the burning rays at bay. Cocunt water and almonds were ever present  to help the body’s maintenance.
Walrus and I kept up the with more experienced practitioners and made it through to the passive last Salutes, and then we reitred to the bar near my place for Sunday drinks and a late lunch.

Certainly, this was one of the most fulfilling ways I have heard of raising money for charity, although I am cetrainly keen to broaden my horizons!

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/YogaAidChallengePerth2012

http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/YogaAid

http://yogaaid.com/

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

