This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C18: Paris to London (Day Twenty-Eight)

Leave a comment

Wake Up: Unsure
Date: 25/09/2011
Weather: Unsure
Location: Paris

Early morning wake up we had and it was off to the bus for the last time. Not every one from the tour was going back to London, as this was the very last day of the tour. Some, like K&C, were going on to adventures in France such as EuroDisney or taking the Eurostar. The rest of the crew was heading back to the UK for other destinations. Most of the crew came down to the bus to see us off.

We said final goodbyes and headed towards the ferry terminal in Calais. The drive to the Calais took most of the day. Customs was apparently surprisingly smooth to pass through. The ferry took an hour and a half. The drive to Russell Square, St Pancras, London took the whole afternoon. One final attempt at packing the bags for the next days flight back to the Land Down Under. Shrimp and I had dinner with Mel and some of the final Contiki crew at the hotel pub and called in an early night.

I cannot recall much of this day as I was barely coherent. Shrimp and I were very sick and sleeping most of the trip.

Population: 8.3 million in London Urban Area, 12 million in London Greater Metropolitan Area
Capital: London, United Kingdom
Language: English
Known for: Bangers and mash, fish and chips, Indian curries, warm beer, cricket, overcast weather, Scotland Yard, royal English family-the Windsors, red phoneboxes, red double-decker bus, old English cabs
Sights to note: everyone says the London Eye but I found it to be a waste of money, the Thames is super dirty but you will see it when visiting most of the more notable sights of the city, Westminster Abbey is fantastic, St Paul’s Cathedral is beautiful, new London City Hall is amazing architecture, people like Tate Modern but it didn’t fuss me, the parliament houses and Big Ben were quite pretty, Hyde Park is well worth a visit and I would recommend half a day there and hire the Barclay’s bikes to tour around it. Of course the underwater park near the London Eye is the greatest aquarium I’ve been to so far.

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

