This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C16: Bordeaux to Paris (Day Twenty-Six)

Leave a comment

Wake Up: 7am
Date: 23/09/2011
Weather: Warm
Location: Bordeaux

Once again we left early and spent the whole day on the road. By this point in the journey Shrimp and I have come down quite sick with the cold. We are finding it hard to get around anywhere without a coughing fit ensuing. Nothing we have bought so far from a pharmacy has had any effect on us. When we pull in to the hotel we do the only thing left I think may have an effect, we have a glass of whisky each. Again, not much help.

After dinner in the hotel of simple buffet food we head out for the most magnificent night sight there probably is in the whole world, the Eiffel Tower. Being in a group with pre-bookings we make it up there pretty quickly. The uppermost deck is very high up indeed and it is a bit daunting taking the lifts up there. But the view is worth it. Every hour, on the hour the tower also twinkles with lights for ten minutes, however the tower is constantly lit. It is certainly magical. After hanging out here for a few hours we bus back to the hotel for bed and our last free day, as well as our last day as a group on tour.

Population: 2.18 million for Paris
Capital: Paris
Language: French
Known for: Onion soup (French Onion Soup), berets, baguettes
Sights to note: Arc De Triumph, Avenue des Champs Elysees, the Louvre, Notre Dame, the Catacombs, and of course Eiffel Tower

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

