This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C15: Barcelona to Bordeaux via Carcassone (Day Twenty-Five)

Leave a comment

Wake Up: 7:30am
Date: 22/09/2011
Weather: Warm
Location: Barcelona

We leave Spain early for France. Lunch was in Carcasone, a medieval French village. I had lunch with Claire and Christie in one of the squares cafes, salad and crepes with nutella and banana. Then we wandered around the town until it was time to get the bus. On our wander we found a cat sitting on a display stand in a shop. I was sure I saw the cat move in its sleep. Claire and Christie are sure it was dead and stuffed. If anyone ever goes there and can tell me the truth I will be forever grateful!.

From lunch we went on to Bordeaux, another long drive. There was entertainment on the bus this trip though. Tour manager Ali had been threatening the whole trip that every person who was late to the bus would be a contestant in iPod Idol. In this you play a song on your iPod and sing along. However you are wearing the headphones so you are the only one who can hear the song. Pretty embarrassing for those involved. I wasn’t one of them.

In Bordeaux K&C, Mel and I walked around until we found a restaurant that sold frogs legs and snails. we shared these entrees, as well as eating salads, beef, lamb and profiteroles. I was so glad I tried the two French delicacies as I actually loved them both quite a bit. I would prefer snails to mussels for sure. I had a half bottle of local red wine with dinner. We strolled down the river front back to the hotel with Phil, Louise and Shrimp.

Population: 805,000 in Bordeaux
Capital: France
Language: French
Known for: Wine, croissants, snails and frogs legs as cuisine
Sights to note: Cathedral Saint-Andre de Bordeaux, the river front

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

