This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C12: Nice (Day Twenty-Two)

Leave a comment

Wake Up:
Date: 19/09/2011
Weather: Nice
Location: Nice, French Riviera

Today is the day of rest. The first one in the entire holiday. Mel, K&C, Shrimp and I had planned a sleep in.After a late breakfast we walked down the main street to the beach. By this stage the slight cold feeling had become a full head cold, and both Shrimp and I were suffering slightly. This is what we call Contiki Cough.

When we reached the beach we bought our sun beds at a beach cafe and settled in for the day. The Nice beach has pebbles instead of sand. It also has a strong undercurrent with a flat surface. The water itself was magnificent. I spent most of my time dreaming of taking my Wardog out on the water.

At lunch time we headed across the promenade to the “old town”. As we were sitting down to order Phil and Louise passed us by. Not long after Rod and Lisa also joined our little group and they all sat down to join us. I had stuffed pepper salad and swordfish and chocolate mousse. Shrimp had the best lasagne I have ever tasted.

Following lunch we found a place that hired roller blades and went skating along the boulevard until we were ready to swim again.Late afternoon we made our way back up the main street to the hotel, stopping in at some shops for a browse on the way. 

In the evening dinner was at a small restaurant in town, with food much the same as the night before. Salad, chicken and cake. Falling in to bed was very satisfying after having the most wonderful and relaxing day in the small coastal town.

Population: 345,000
Capital: Paris
Language: French
Known for: The beaches and weather, celebrities, boating, tanning
Sights to note: Promenade des Anglais, the old town

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

