This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C9: Italian Carnage in Florence (Day Nineteen)

Leave a comment

Wake Up: 7am
Date: 16/09/2011
Weather: Hot
Location:Venice Mainland

From Venice we make our way to Florence via Pisa. Yes the famous Leaning Tower is our service stop today. The area of Pisa is very outer suburbia. The Tower itself is built next to a larger longer building of the same style. But no one talks about this building. It’s all about the tilt.

2011 has the Leaning Tower of Pisa at a tilt 4 metres away from 90 degree erect angle. It supposedly moves a further 2cm a year. I will not be surprised if it goes before I do. The attempts to realign the tower have failed previously and only a few people can go up there at a time so they do not help the tilt. I, of course got my cheesy image of trying to hold up the Tower, and then it was off to Florence. The trip took most of the day.

A traditional Italian night out is interesting. Dinner of spaghetti and meatballs and Martguerita pizza and red wine. Restaurants here do not serve wine by the glass, rather by the litre or half litre. So I had a half of Vino Cianti. The meal was delicious. Then we walked to The Red Garter for a fun night of karaoke.

We arrived in time for Happy Hour, so Louise and I decided to share 2x 1 litre cocktails (the smallest size available) of vodka and Red Bull. With European free pour and serving sizes as they were it should be no surprise to you that I barely remember leaving the Garter.

City: Pisa
Population:100,000
Language: Italian
Known for: The Leaning Tower
Sights to note: The Tower

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

