This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C10: Florence or Firenze (Day Twenty)

Leave a comment

Wake Up: 7:30am
Date: 17/09/2011
Weather: warm
Location: Florence

I woke up still drunk. There was vomit in the marble hallway, but no one could say whose it was. This vomit will be left until mid afternoon and stain the cream marble so that cleaning it will require bleach.

First stop is Leonardo’s Leather Company to watch a display of traditional leather boxes being made. I bought some wallets as gifts here and had them all gilt monogrammed. Today I wanted to roam the city alone and so I headed off to buy tickets to see David.

I met up with the group for a local walking tour at midday. A wander through the city following took me to my appointment with David. He truly is as wonderful as people say. Lunch was a beautiful Fettucine Cabonara.

Our Tuscan Dinner was at the top of Florence next to a monastery. On the way we had our Contiki photo taken at the top of Michelangelo Park with Florence city in our background. Antipasto, lasagne, penne, beef and spinach, bom alaska. Two litre bottles of wine are spread evenly down the tables. The Italians eat and drink like kings. After dinner we had a glass of champagne and a sample of the monastery’s liqueur, which was 90%. I bought a bottle of this, 10 euro for 100ml! The bus was headed for Space Disco, an Italian nightclub in town. I gave this one a miss, as I was starting to feel sick like a cold was coming on. I think Shrimp got to bed at 3am.

Population: 371,000
Region: Tuscany
Language: Tuscan Italian
Known for: Tuscan Wine, Michelangelo, the Renaissance art and architecture, the historic centre, Italian leather such as Leonardo’s Leather
Sights to note: The Statue of David, Il Duomo di Firenze, the Campanile, Ponte Vecchio

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

