This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C8: Venice (Day Eighteen)

Leave a comment

Wake Up: 6:30am
Date: 15/09/2011
Weather: Stinking hot
Location: Venice mainland

We took a ferry from the mainland to the island of Venice. This was a great way to see the outskirts of the old city. I walked briefly around the outside of St Marc’s Basilica and many other buildings in the area before checking out a traditional Murano glass-blowing demonstration. It took 5 minutes to make a vase and 5 minutes to make a horse statue. Unbelievable!

A stroll through Venice with a guide to point out all these fantastic little historical titbits left us lost in a side street hunting lunch of bruschetta and proper pizza. The pizza was margherita and so most fabulous! The bruschetta was the best I have ever tasted.

Later in the afternoon we took a gondola ride with champagne through the canals. I sadly almost toppled over our gondola but was saved at the last second by luck. Dinner was a pasta party with four types of pasta and wine, as well as vegetable and seafood antipastos and h’orderves. More wine and then back to the mainland.

Country: Italy
Capital: Rome
Language: Venezitian
Known For: Canals and gondolas, pizza, wine, olive oil, bruschetta, l’amore, carnivale
Sights to Note: St Marc’s Basilica, not so much a sight but I strongly recommend getting lost in Venice, the shops on the bridge

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

