This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C6: Trubsee to Munich via Lichtenstein (Day Sixteen)

Leave a comment

Wake Up: 7am
Date: 13/09/2011
Weather: Warm
Location: Trubsee

Left Engleberg for Lichtenstein for lunch. Lichtenstein is one of the world’s smallest countries, 3rd smallest if I understand correctly. It does have the world’s smallest capital city. We had lunch here in a cute little cafe, got our passports stamped, and then headed for Bavaria, South Germany.

The people in Bavaria are much more traditional when it comes to the culture and dress and social life than they are in the rest of Germany. It isn’t unusual here to see men dressed in lederhosen and women in dirndl and dancing in the park. They are also very heavy beer drinkers and like to drink it by the stein, which is a one litre glass serving.

Our first stop in Munich was a stroll through the centre of the city to see the sights. Munich was the Nazi headquarters in World War II, but let this not dampen your opinion of the people or city. Our stroll finished at 5pm in the main square and you know what that means? The Glockenspiel! What a dull event this was. 15 minutes of slow moving statues doing cute spins and games.

We then took a 2 hour bike ride through Munich with Mike’s Bike Tours. This is by far the best way to see the city. So many wonderful buildings, so much history abounding around every corner, so many naked people in the Englisher Garten, a large inner city park! A stop off halfway through the tour at a beer garden for a stein meant the rest of the ride was less history and more novelty.

In Munich is the Eisenbach, or Ice River. This is a place where there is constantly a metre high wave in a river which brings a professional surfing crowd from all around the world. There is also the world’s oldest beer hall, the Hofbrauhaus, which seats roughly 1,500 people.

My dinner there was the famous pork knuckle in beer gravy with potato dumpling and sauerkraut. Pork knuckle is fantastic! So is Hofbrauhaus beer and spiestsie (coke and fanta mixed in together). It was a safe decision to go to bed at this point.

Country: Bavaria, Germany (it is important to make this distinction as the people are wanting to separate from the rest of Germany)
Capital: Munich is capital of Bavaria, Berlin is capital of Germany
Language: German
Known for: Beer, Oktoberfest, Lederhosen and Dirndl, Pork Knuckle, Sauerkraut, Brattwurst, Prost!
Sights of note: Glokenspiel, Englisher Garten, Hofbrauhaus, all of the architecture

Facts: Lichtenstein is the 3rd smallest country in the world. The capital city is the world’s smallest city with a population of 5,000. It is the only country to use Swiss Franc’s as currency, except for Switzerland. They speak Swiss-Franco here.

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

