This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C5: Trubsee (Day Fifteen)

Leave a comment

Wake Up: About 7am
Date: 12/09/2011
Weather: Cold and then freezing cold and then muggy warm
Location: Trubsee

Breakfast was quick before we got the first cable car up the next step of the mountain. The final step was in the 360 degree rotating cable car to the top of Mount Titlis. There was some snow and lots of ice up the top. There were also reports it may snow tonight. But there was quite a surprise for use when we got to the top of the mountain.

The smell of curry! I hope this does not come out wrong, but Titlis is the sight of many Bollywood films, and so the draw for Indians to visit is immense. There is also a curry house at the top, as well as a more traditional restaurant, to cater for these intrepid movie buffs.

Mel, K&C and I walked through a glacier cave, and then took an open lift ride with Claire2 over a large glacier. It was quite thrilling and a little scary for me with my dislike of heights. We went back down after lunch as we had an appointment down the base of the mountain.

Mel, Kristy and I had paid to bungee jump out of a cable car! I had been looking forward to this for 6 months. As the cable car pulled out I started to tear up. As the first guy jumped I panicked. The second jump assured me I had to go through with it. I decided I had to get it over and done with. I got tied up, tears still streaming down my face. I walked to the edge, my legs shaking. They started to count down, and my will got the best of me and I had to step down.

I am not ashamed. I am not sad. I am not regretting my decision. I will just have to try some smaller ones and build my way back up to it. After some roof top yoga and beer, I had dinner and went straight to bed.

Height above sea level: Engleberg 1010m; Trubsee 1800m; Mt Titlis 3000m
Height of bungee cable car: 140m (Europe’s tallest bungee jump)

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

