This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C4: St. Goar to Swiss Alps via Lucerne (Day Fourteen)

Leave a comment

Wake Up: 6am
Date: 11/09/2011
Weather: Muggy and hot
Location: St Goar

Departed at 6:30 for on a 6 hour trip to the Swiss Alps. Claire, Kristy, Mel and I quartered a smuggled brownie to make the trip a little easier. Mel and I pretty much slept the whole way to Lucerne. This is a city surrounding a lake at the base of the Alps. It was very hot here. The lake was so clear and beautiful. Across the lower half of the lake is the Chapel Bridge, which is a medieval bridge with a roof made centuries ago and rebuilt after a fire more recently.

First Contiki stop in Lucerne was at a memorial made to commemorate the assistance given by the Swiss Army to the French royals Marie Antoinette and Prince Louis during the peasant famine uprisings. The lion sculpture is sad and has a spear in its back. It is etched into a wall in a cavern in the shape of a pig. The Swiss took a few digs at the French here, completely within reason as the French royals betrayed the Swiss Army and left them unknowingly defending an empty castle.

Second Contiki stop was to a Swiss Army and Watch manufacturer. Then we had a stroll back over the Chapel bridge to the bus to get back on our way up the mountains. At Engleberg we took our overnight bags in two cable car rides half way up Mount Titlis to our hotel at Trubsee.

This is a very cool hotel which would be the absolute best to place to stay when skiing the Alps in winter. Our bedroom was on the first floor, so we could climb out our window onto the upper balcony, which was also the roof of the bar. One short slide down the connecting slide took us directly to the balcony of the bar.

One of the girls on the trip had her birthday this day and so we spent the night getting her, and ourselves happily intoxicated. Absinth in the Alps! What magic!

Country: Switzerland
Capital: Bern
Language: Swiss-Franco or Swiss-German
Known for: Skiing, the Alps, yodelling, chocolate, beautiful people, cow bells
Sights to note: The glaciers from above, mountain top lakes in summer, traditional houses and chateau’s

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

