This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

C2: Brussels to Amsterdam (Day Twelve)

Leave a comment

Wake Up: 6:30am
Date: 09/09/2011
Weather: Wet
Location: Brussels

Left the hotel by 8am. My eyes were sore and bloodshot. I paid for all the activities there was on offer for the next short while, so there would be no rest for this lil` girl. We arrived in Amsterdam at 10:30 and had free time to 3:30. Mel and I used this opporunity to go to the Post Office and then we went to see Anne Frank`s house. This is a museum in the house AF occupied during World War II. The place was incredibly well designed as a museum and so moving to see. The building had been updated, however the walls and everything were still the originals from the time of occupation. Anne`s father had requested that the rooms remained empty, however there are scale models which show how the place was set up.

Then Mel and I just wandered through the streets of the city. The canals were everywhere and so beautiful . Crossing the street was dangerous as the traffic is on the other side of the road, the medium strip is for trams, there are footpaths and cycle lanes, as well as the car lanes. I bought a jacket for the cool climate. Also some souvenirs and fun things.

At 4 we were at our hotel. By 5pm we left for dinner, which was a 4 course meal in a fishing village. Vegetable soup, salad, turkey in curry sauce, apple pie as well as appertiff`s and a bit of wine. Then we headed back in to The Dam (Amsterdam) for a canal cruise and 1.5 hrs of unlimited alcohol. We made our own dancefloor and busted it up wicked ways. John Farnham was well loved.

The cruise finished in the Red Light district for the much anticipated night`s event. After wandering around checking out the ladies in the windows we came to Casa Rossa (The Pink Elephant) for the most famous Sex Show in The Dam. For an hour we were given drinks while we watched couple after couple come on stage and shag. Between the sex there were strip shows and girls with dildo`s. One girl from our group, Clair, got to go on stage and help a big black man strip. He flicked his penis in her face and it slapped her mouth!

After the Sex Show we went and indulged in the delicacy The Dam is most known for, Space Cakes. A quick taxi ride back to the hotel found Clair, Mel, Kristy and me giggling and rambling away in my hotel room in our pyjama`s. Bed at 3am.

Population: 16 million (14.2 million bikes)
Capital: Amsterdam is the capital of The Netherlands
Language: Dutch
Known for: Hash Brownies, The Red Light District, Cheese, Clogs, Cycling
Sights to note: The canals, the red light district, the fishing villages, the multi-level bicycle parking areas., the old building, I AMSTERDAM sign, The museums (which are everywhere!)

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

