This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

Day Nine- Conquering Fears

Leave a comment

Today is our last official day of sightseeing in London. Tomorrow morning we will be picking up our laundry from the drycleaners and moving on to the Contiki Hotel.

There were only two places left on our must-see list for this old city: The Tower of London and the London Dungeons.

The Tower was a train ride away, and yes we did use the tube for a change. Only because it was raining. And a little bit further than our normal walks. We saw the Crown Jewels for various rulers over the past few decades, as well as many other exciting things. I personally enjoyed the tower and torture chambers.

We walked across London Bridge to the dungeions, which is a historical ‘ghost house’ set up under the train-line. The walking tour took you through all the grizzly events of London over the greater half of the last millenia. This tour was a big step for me.

Most people are not aware of the troubles I have had in the past with dark and scary situations, but needless to say I wasn’t always the kind of person that could be in a room only half-lit. So to go on a backwards ghost ride in a haunted house in pitch black with ghoulies jumping out at you sponaneously, well I did it ladies and gents and I was only mildly holding Shrimps jumper sleeve.

I smartly also told the people close to the end that I did not feel like going on the last few rides in the tour, where they let me out in to the photo room. The pic of us was pretty cool and is the only one we have actually bought from all the places we have been so far.

Tomorrow we are meeting up with Aimee and Matt for shopping. The boys, of course, will most likely just find a cafe/pub to hang in by the sounds of it. I have bought 6 scarves already so I will be doing some bag re-arranging. Best sort that out now…

au revoir me amis xx

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

