This Lupus Life

I am the dancer and Lupus is my music. I want to make it look beautiful

Day Eight-Shakespeare Hotel

Leave a comment

Today we did not leave the hotel. Shrimp has taken ill with what seems to be a 24 hour bug. I felt not much better than him but I wasn’t suffering as much. The Kid and Her Ma have left London for a tour of the north so she spent the day relaying facts to me via text.

We had the window open in our room and I sat in the sill or somewhat on the balcony for the most part. The TV is good, but I finally had a chance to nut out a few chapters on the tomb I’m reading. Since we did nothing I’ll fill you in a bit on the base details of our trip.

We are two blocks north of Hyde Park in a small street around the corner from Paddington Station. The hotel is four townhouses linked by doorways in the centre of the buildings. We are at one end of the hotel on the second floor. Our room is tiny, with one metre at most on either side of the bed. This would be due to the fact that it used to be joined to the one next door. A nice British man from a county somewhere is next to us and he has 3 cigarettes a day.

We have an ensuite with the world’s loudest fan. It runs for 10 minutes after you turn it off and is linked to the main light for the room. This is not a joyous contraption. Breakfast is in three linked rooms in the basement. The coffee is crap. The apple juice is strong. The toast is lukewarm. The butter is nice.

Most of the hotel’s guests are European. Most of the staff are European. Most people we have met on this holiday are European. We don’t actually encounter many Brits, and the ones we have are all Indian.

Shrimp is looking for girls on this trip, thus the counting. He is quite partial to the way European girls look. He won’t hold my hand when we go on scary rides or the like in case a girl sees and thinks we are together. For this reason I have missed out on a few scary things, but I am not overly upset.

I am counting amazing buildings. This is far more my cup of tea. My favourite so far would by far be London City Hall on the South Bank of the Thames. We’ve driven past London Tower and I am super keen to see it in full tomorrow. I did fall some what in love in Westminster Abbey and could have spent hours just sitting in Poet’s Corner. My heart did fall drastically in to my belly when Shrimp stated the only thing that he is interested in is throwing a rock through the ancient stained glass windows “because it always looked cool in movies”.

I almost got hit by a car a few days back. Crossing the street. We have honestly always known that will be my downfall. Shrimp has revoked my street crossing privileges. These times I must hold his hand.

Only a few more days now and we will be off. It cannot be too soon as I am becoming bored and restless. Who would have thought?

Good night xx

Author: Chevron Spots

I am in my mid twenties and fighting my battles to discover who I am and where I fit in to this zany, beautiful world. I was diagnosed with Lupus in in 2008. This takes up most of my focus, as I want to share the experience of trying to live with and rise above chronic invisible illness, so to speak. I would like to stress very much the information regarding medications, medical procedures and illnesses are discussed from my point of view, and with my understanding, colloquialisms and metaphors. I do not attempt to be legally and precisely accurate for the general population, rather I try to be emotionally and descriptively true to my experiences. I hope I can help in understanding others with chronic illness by providing one more personal recount of just how spontaneous and difficult these lives really are. One day I hope to visit every continent, climb some pretty high mountains, sleep in an ice cavern, marry a wonderfully understanding man, have children and teach more children. Mostly, I just want a simple life, you know the house with a husband and kids. Oh, and no pain.

Leave a Reply

